S$29.99
& FREE Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by TheProductsHub, from outside Singapore. For information about products sold by international sellers, click here.
Have one to sell?

Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance Paperback – Illustrated, 21 August 2018

4.6 out of 5 stars 3,954 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, Illustrated, 21 August 2018
S$29.99
S$22.44
Arrives: 7 - 13 Nov. Details
Fastest delivery: 3 - 7 Nov. Details
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance
  • +
  • Mindset - Updated Edition: Changing The Way You think To Fulfil Your Potential
  • +
  • Outliers: The Story of Success
Total Price: S$65.83
Buy the selected items together
Best books of 2020
See top titles of the year

Product details

  • Paperback : 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1501111116
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1501111112
  • Language: : English
  • Customer reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 3,954 ratings

Product description

Review

Grit is a useful guide for parents or teachers looking for confirmation that passion and persistence matter, and for inspiring models of how to cultivate these important qualities.
--The Washington Post

[Blends] anecdote and science, statistic and yarn...Not your grandpa's self-help book, but Duckworth's text is oddly encouraging, exhorting us to do better by trying harder, and a pleasure to read.
--Kirkus Reviews

A fascinating tour of the psychological research on success...A great service of Ms. Duckworth's book is her down-to-earth definition of passion. To be gritty, an individual doesn't need to have an obsessive infatuation with a goal. Rather, he needs to show 'consistency over time.' The grittiest people have developed long-term goals and are constantly working toward them.
--The Wall Street Journal

An informative and inspiring contribution to the literature of success.
--Publishers Weekly

Angela Duckworth [is] the psychologist who has made 'grit' the reigning buzzword in education-policy circles...Duckworth's ideas about the cultivation of tenacity have clearly changed some lives for the better...In this book, Duckworth, whose TED talk has been viewed more than eight million times, brings her lessons to the reading public.
--Judith Shulevitz, The New York Times Book Review

Engaging...With strong appeal for readers of Daniel H. Pink, Malcolm Gladwell, and Susan Cain, this is a must-have.
--Booklist

If you have recently bumped into that word, grit, Duckworth is the reason...In education and parenting circles, her research has provided a much needed antipode to hovering, by which children are systematically deprived of the opportunity to experience setbacks, much less overcome them...What sticks with you [in Grit] are the testimonials, collected from sources as disparate as Will Smith, William James, and Jeff Bezos's mom, that relentlessly deflate the myth of the natural.
--The Atlantic

It really isn't talent but practice--along with passion--that makes perfect, explains psychologist Duckworth in this illuminating book. Inspiration for non-geniuses everywhere.
--People

One of The Hottest Spring Nonfiction Books
--The Wall Street Journal

"This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success."
--Dan Heath, co-author of Made to Stick, Switch, and Decisive

About the Author

Angela Duckworth, PhD, is a 2013 MacArthur Fellow and professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. She has advised the World Bank, NBA and NFL teams, and Fortune 500 CEOs. She is also the founder and CEO of Character Lab, a nonprofit whose mission is to advance scientific insights that help kids thrive. She completed her BA in neurobiology at Harvard, her MSc in neuroscience at Oxford, and her PhD in psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance is her first book and an instant New York Times bestseller.

No customer reviews

5 star (0%) 0%
4 star (0%) 0%
3 star (0%) 0%
2 star (0%) 0%
1 star (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
Slick Rhoads
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new here. Save yourself the read.
5 May 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
870 people found this helpful
Dmitry
2.0 out of 5 stars If you saw the author's TED talk on grit, there is not much you will learn from reading this book
27 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
292 people found this helpful
Pham Account
1.0 out of 5 stars It started out as a great book, but it never transitioned
30 June 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
88 people found this helpful
ericnoreen
4.0 out of 5 stars I found this book to be the perfect hybrid of informative and motivating
13 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
125 people found this helpful