S$20.20 + FREE Delivery
Usually dispatched within 6 to 10 days.
Ships from and sold by The Book Depository Limited, from outside Singapore. For information about products sold by international sellers, click here.
S$20.20 + FREE Delivery
Have one to sell?
 
See all 2 images

Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance Paperback – 21 Aug 2018

4.6 out of 5 stars 1,909 ratings

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
S$20.20
S$14.35

click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance
  • +
  • Mindset - Updated Edition: Changing The Way You think To Fulfil Your Potential
Total Price: S$34.72
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Scribner Book Company; Reprint edition (21 August 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1501111116
  • ISBN-13: 978-1501111112
  • Product Dimensions:: 14 x 2 x 21.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 340 g
  • Customer reviews:
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: 3,330 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success."
--Dan Heath, co-author of Made to Stick, Switch, and Decisive

"A contemporary classic--a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, Grit is an essential--and perhaps life-changing--read."
--Daniel H. Pink, New York Times-bestselling author of When, Drive, and To Sell Is Human

"Grit delivers! Angela Duckworth shares the stories, the science, and the positivity behind sustained success...A must-read."
--Barbara Fredrickson, author of Positivity and Love 2.0 and President of the International Positive Psychology Association

"Grit delves into the personal ingredients of great success. It's worth reading...the gist is that talent and skill are less valuable than effort."
--Andrew Ross Sorkin, The New York Times

"Grit is a pop-psych smash."
--The New Yorker

"Grit is a useful guide for parents or teachers looking for confirmation that passion and persistence matter, and for inspiring models of how to cultivate these important qualities."
--The Washington Post

"Grit is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart."
--Malcolm Gladwell, author of The Tipping Point, Blink, and Outliers

"[Blends] anecdote and science, statistic and yarn...Not your grandpa's self-help book, but Duckworth's text is oddly encouraging, exhorting us to do better by trying harder, and a pleasure to read."
--Kirkus Reviews

"[Have] no doubt: Grit is great. It's a lucid, informative, and entertaining review of the research Angela has assiduously conducted over the past decade or so. The book also includes suggestions on how to develop grit, and how we can help support grit in others. There are few people who wouldn't learn something from this book."
--Scientific American (blog)

"A combination of rich science, compelling stories, crisp graceful prose, and appealingly personal examples...Without a doubt, this is the most transformative, eye-opening book I've read this year."
--Sonja Lyubomirsky, Professor, University of California, Riverside and author of The How of Happiness

About the Author

Angela Duckworth, PhD, is a 2013 MacArthur Fellow and professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. She has advised the White House, the World Bank, NBA and NFL teams, and Fortune 500 CEOs. She is also the Founder and Scientific Director of the Character Lab, a nonprofit whose mission is to advance the science and practice of character development. She completed her BA in neurobiology at Harvard, her MSc in neuroscience at Oxford, and her PhD in psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance is her first book and an instant New York Times bestseller.

No customer reviews

5 star (0%) 0%
4 star (0%) 0%
3 star (0%) 0%
2 star (0%) 0%
1 star (0%) 0%
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Slick Rhoads
2.0 out of 5 starsNothing new here. Save yourself the read.
5 May 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
683 people found this helpful.
Dmitry
2.0 out of 5 starsIf you saw the author's TED talk on grit, there is not much you will learn from reading this book
27 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
203 people found this helpful.
ericnoreen
4.0 out of 5 starsI found this book to be the perfect hybrid of informative and motivating
13 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
104 people found this helpful.