S$35.16
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Ships from and sold by Book Reach (USA), from outside Singapore. For information about products sold by international sellers, click here.
Have one to sell?

My Share Of The Task: A Memoir Paperback – Illustrated, 28 January 2014

4.5 out of 5 stars 509 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, Illustrated
S$35.16
S$23.67
S$10.00 delivery: 20 - 26 March Details
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • My Share Of The Task: A Memoir
  • +
  • Team of Teams: New Rules of Engagement for a Complex World
  • +
  • Leaders: Myth and Reality
Total Price: S$109.79
Buy the selected items together
Best books of 2020
See top titles of the year

Product details

  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 480 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 159184682X
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1591846826
  • Reading age : 18 years and up
  • Customer reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 509 ratings

Product description

Review

"General McChrystal is a legendary warrior with a fine eye for enduring lessons about leadership, courage, and consequence. He took me inside the command bunker, on nighttime raids, and through the fog of war, political and military. My Share of the Task is an important, riveting, and instructive account of the triumphs and trials of America's two longest wars."

--TOM BROKAW, author of The Greatest Generation

"Written in the tradition of Ulysses S. Grant, My Share of the Task is a clear, compelling, self-critical, and utterly unpretentious memoir. I know of no better book on the nature of modern military command."

--JOHN LEWIS GADDIS, author of George F. Kennan: An American Life

"This is a brilliant book about leadership wrapped inside a fascinating personal narra­tive. By describing his own life, and especially his command in Afghanistan, General McChrystal helps us understand the modern missions of the military. More than that, he provides lessons about leadership and values that are indispensable in our daily lives. It's a deeply inspiring tale."

--WALTER ISAACSON, author of Steve Jobs and Benjamin Franklin

"Stanley McChrystal has written the finest military memoir of his generation. Lucid, thoughtful, and steeped in military and strategic history, My Share of the Task is not just the story of one man's service; it is the story of the development of a new way of war. This book is not just for aficionados of military history or for students of American foreign policy; it's for anyone who wants to understand the challenges of leadership in America today."

--WALTER RUSSELL MEAD, author of Special Providence and God and Gold

"A remarkable memoir by one of the most exceptional and thoughtful leaders of his generation."

--RORY STEWART, author of The Places in Between

About the Author

Stanley McChrystal retired in July 2010 as a four-star general in the U.S. Army. His last assignment was as the commander of the International Security Assistance Force and as the commander of U.S. forces in Afghanistan. He is currently a senior fellow at Yale University's Jackson Institute for Global Affairs and cofounder of the McChrystal Group, a leadership consulting firm. He and his wife, Annie, live in Virginia.

No customer reviews

5 star (0%) 0%
4 star (0%) 0%
3 star (0%) 0%
2 star (0%) 0%
1 star (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars 404 reviews
anupamifs
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
4 March 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
28 people found this helpful
Soup Sandwich
2.0 out of 5 stars This is just another ra-ra "I love me" book written by a bureaucrat general so typical ...
19 May 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Ron
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Great Leadership Tutorial
15 December 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Edwin Handley
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing perspective on the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan
14 March 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sassan31
5.0 out of 5 stars *Highly Recommended*
17 July 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful