Buy new:
S$16.92
FREE delivery: 23 - 26 Aug. Details
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
S$S$16.92 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
S$S$16.92
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Postage cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers and we don’t sell your information to others. Find out more
Ships from The Book Depository Limited
Sold by The Book Depository Limited
Ships from
The Book Depository Limited
Other Sellers on Amazon
S$18.73
FREE Delivery on first order. Details
Sold by: Amazon SG
Sold by: Amazon SG
Only 5 left in stock.
and Return policy
S$19.27
+ S$2.00 Delivery
Sold by: Blackwell's UK
Sold by: Blackwell's UK
(17 ratings)
88% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
and Return policy
S$27.56
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: HibikiWarriors
Sold by: HibikiWarriors
(2 ratings)
50% positive
Only 5 left in stock.
and Return policy

Where the Crawdads Sing Paperback – 12 December 2019

5.0 out of 5 stars 5 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, 12 December 2019
S$16.92
S$16.92

Enhance your purchase

Frequently bought together

  • Where the Crawdads Sing
  • +
  • Normal People
  • +
  • Educated: The international bestselling memoir
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world ― New York Times Book Review

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is movingDaily Mail

For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievementThe Times

Kya is a compelling character, Owen's descriptive prose is lushly impressive, and the twist in the narrative's tail is neat ― Sunday Times Culture

Owens combines high tension with precise detail about how people dress, sound, live and eat - the case studies in her book are both human and natural . . . Surprise bestsellers are often works that chime with the times. Though set in the 1950s and 60s, Where the Crawdads Sing is, in its treatment of racial and social division and the fragile complexities of nature, obviously relevant to contemporary politics and ecology. But these themes will reach a huge audience though the writer's old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape descriptionthe Guardian

For sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath awayThe Times (separate review)

All is not as it seems in this heartbreaking coming-of-age bestsellerThe i newspaper

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. ― Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it downThe Lady

The strength of the story comes from the sympathetic portrait of its heroine who cannot fail to captivate, right up until the surprising endUK Press Association and Independent I

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.People

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it downThe Lady

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara KingsolverBustle

A nature-infused romance with a killer twistRefinery29

Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our livesVanity Fair

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. ― Entertainment Weekly

A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain-you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely

Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

This is a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story, perfect for book clubsCandis

A story that's evocative and sad and with a remarkable heroineImage magazine

About the Author

Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa including Cry of the Kalahari.


She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others.


She currently lives in Idaho. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

Best books of 2020
See top titles of the year

Product details

  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1472154665
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1472154668
  • Customer reviews:
    5.0 out of 5 stars 5 ratings

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5
5 customer ratings
5 star
100%
4 star 0% (0%) 0%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

2 customer reviews

2 February 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
30 December 2020
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars 26 reviews
Book woman
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging story with some flaws
7 October 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Elizabeth M.
5.0 out of 5 stars A Prizewinnjng book suitable for teenagers and adults
7 August 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
kathryn r love
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read
26 August 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
janice
5.0 out of 5 stars where the cradads sing
13 August 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Sharon Dolle
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is an Exceptional Read.
13 August 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase